Book Reviews · Who am I

Stilts out for a walk

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” – Allen Saunders

 As I told you last time, a lot of work is announced. But, that doesn’t mean that I will chill myself, that I will settle down and I will have a quiet life. Oh, no no no…
Last week I took part of a shooting, which started in the evening and kept till the morning. With smoke, torches, craziness, this and those, what usually happens to the shootings. That is why I like going to work, I am taking part of this kind of things also. In the matter of my colleagues, no, they are not normals, and honestly, I am not wishing for them to be. On that night we had enough fun for 3 months from now on.
After a few days of work, I told myself it won’t damage to leave the town also. So I left to my bro and my sis-in-law, in Bucharest. Perhaps they missed me. I’ve nicely made my luggage (a backpack with the laptop and some thrown clothes), I’ve thrown with elegance and style the earphones in my ears, and Friday morning I ran. And, how my luck looks like is blooming in the last period, in the morning at 8 am it was so cold outside, that my feet (which you can say I have painted them, of how white they are) puckered just like a chicken’s skin. No prob, keep on goin’, because until I got there, were 30 degrees already.
Eh, here’s the booboo. When I got there, although it was dyingly hot, I was with my shorty pants, the others were with long pants, jackets, blouses, etc. So, I asked, like we all do: “But here, aren’t shorts too? They are not selling that?”, and the answer was wonderful: “Of course, but they are half buttock cut, and coming out later in the evening.” Oh, again I screwed up with fashion, ’cause my pants were covering my butt.
I stayed three days, days of long walks until we’ve made muscular soreness, we’ve made pizza for the whole neighborhood, I’ve sunk some ships with my brother (a game, I will tell you soon about it), we went out for a coffee like girls, and gossiped just like boys do, three days of escapement. The road takes around 4 hours, so before I left my home, I’ve taken a book with me.
“Ghost exit” – Philip Roth. When I bought this book, I admit that I’ve read some opinions before. Some of them bragged it, some didn’t. Until the half of it, I can say that I wished to finish it as soon as possible, to get rid of it, to give it as a gift. I do not like that kind of books, in which from 20 pages, at least 15 are with and about politics. But (there is always a “but”), the last part caught me. Writer, in his old age, with age-related medical problems, willfully isolated from the modern world and technology, comes back in the city of his youth, fell in love with a young lady (which he knew her from years ago), finds out the secret of his mentor, and also meet the woman who stayed with him in his last years of life, and tries, as much as possible, to keep under control his memory loss, in such a way that he could continue his writing. In few words will be like this: politics, love, writers, oldness, death. I recommend it, half of it, but I recommend it.
What do you think? Leave a reply

