Book Reviews

A must read book, a must see movie

“My diving bell becomes less oppressive, and my mind takes flight like a butterfly.”

I’ve been trying for a while to tell you about a book which personally changed my perspective on everything and everyone. I received it when I was 18 years old, a better moment couldn’t be, but left a pleasant and painful imprint at the same time. The diving bell and the butterfly – Jean-Dominique Bauby.
Offered me something that any other book or person couldn’t give me that kick in the ass which made me realize who I was and how much I can do. We aren’t few the ones who sometimes are feeling like a butterfly caught in a diving bell suit (suit from ’60), but it’s like: goes in who wants, comes out who can.
How much determination you need to have to write a book with only one eye’s wink? How much courage you need to have to accept that you are a butterfly caught in a diving bell? In one way or another, we are all alike Jean-Dominique Bauby. but what makes us different is the way we see our lives.
If you ever wondered how much love or pain a soul can carry, what to live means indeed, which is the most valuable happiness, how much you can fight, and what to fight for, then this book is going to change all your answers you already had in mind. The only thing that
stops us is ourselves, and that “I cannot” is only in our mind.
For the ones who are lazy (I know you guys are here, no big deal, I have my own laziness and “rest” days), there is a movie also made from this book. I need to tell you that the movie is a little bit intense and maybe a little gloomy too than the book itself. But my advice is to try them both.
Until next time I cannot wait to hear your opinion about the book or the movie.
What do you think? Leave a reply

