Book Reviews

“The town was paper, but the memories were not.”

 

Hello dears and welcome to a new book review. This week we will talk about paper towns. Not just any of them, but about the book Paper Towns written by John Green. I found out about this book by reading a quote I fell immediately in love with. It was perfect and fit me in every single word:

“That’s always seemed so ridiculous to me, that people would want to be around someone because they’re pretty. It’s like picking your breakfast cereals based on color instead of taste. But I’m not pretty, not close up anyway. Generally, the closer people get to me the less hot they find me.”

 From this quote, I decided to read the book and see what is all about. It’s a novel for young adults and it is a New York Times Bestseller. Also, this book has a film adaptation. Now, I lt1d05rlrfbfamust admit it is the first time I am reading something written by John Green, but might not be the last time.
The book is easy to recognize, has a pinned map on its cover. A huge red pin on a map more exactly, which is kind of interesting. It was easy to read, as it is structured in such a way.
 So, we have a teenager, Quentin, searching for his dear friend, Margo (I love this name; it has a vintage touch, intense, mysterious). Margo, a model between youngsters, but not a well- behaved child, disappears, leaving behind her clues for her old friend, Q. The boy, Quentin, on the other hand, is a model child for his parents. Well, for all the parents. Quiet, chilled, no problem maker, and so on. I was kind of surprised that the author chose to put the rebellious part on the girl. Usually, the boy gets to be such way. Well done with this part. Back to the book, it is a nice adventure, like reading an old map that leads to a treasure, or at least I felt that way reading it. It has clues to follow, pieces that needed to be put together, and besides those, I saw something else also:
Realizing who your truly friends are, how much are you willing to do in order to find your friend, discovering yourself and pushing your limits, giving up on your routine, and last but not least, how much will you let others influence your life.

“The longer I do my job the more I realize that humans lack good mirrors. It’s so hard for anyone to show us how we look, and so hard for us to show anyone how we feel.”

b82c0d420891aa4035befd55522d9a83.jpg
What didn’t I fancy so much about this book? It gets boring at some point. It’s all good and amazing, but there are a few chapters that felt like I was rereading the ones I already did a few pages ago. And I know it’s a book for young adults, but I think it should’ve been a little bit more intense. Give me the same kind of suspense you gave me from the first pages and
I will be more than happy. And the action… well, a bit more action it would’ve been a good thing. I mean, I felt the same agony when Q. was in the classroom and waited the time pass, but I felt the same way when the action happens and that was not very impressive.

 “Leaving feels good and pure only when you leave something important, something that mattered to you. Pulling life out by the roots. But you can’t do that until your life has grown roots.”

Overall, it is a good book for young souls out there. It does teach you some things and if you can read between the lines it does give you some pieces of advice also. But I am not sure it is a good book for me. Maybe I am getting old, or maybe I am just like a picky lady who would like to speak with the manager.
 What about you, dear, have you read it? How does it seem to you?
What do you think? Leave a reply

